The Society of British Theatre Designers

  • Duchess of Malfi - Charing Cross Theatre
  • Happy Days
  • Ain't Misbehavin'
  • Mrs Fox R&D
  • The Insect Play
  • Pole Dancer/Rat
Staging Places: We Are The Storytellers Now - open until March 13, 2020 at V&A London

Linbury Prize Winners 2013:

Through the prestigious Linbury Prize for Stage Design 2013 four emerging stage design graduates won a unique opportunity to design a professional production for the following major theatre, dance or opera companies: English Touring Opera, National Theatre of Scotland, Nottingham Playhouse and Scottish Dance Theatre.

Renowned designers Es Devlin, John Macfarlane and Christopher Oram selected a shortlist of twenty candidates, from which the four commissioning companies each chose three finalists to work on designs for a forthcoming production. The individual winners are Florence de Mare who trained at Royal Academy of Dramatic Art; Madeleine Girling, a graduate of the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama; Ana Ines Jabares Pita who graduated from Royal Central School of Speech and Drama; and Alexander Ruth a graduate of the London College of Fashion.

Ana Ines Jabares Pita was also named the overall winner of the Linbury Prize 2013, and wins an extra £1,000 in addition to the £2,000 prize money received by all four winners. The awards were presented by Anya Sainsbury, founder of the Linbury Prize and Caro Newling, the Chair of the Linbury Prize Committee.

Congratulations to all winners and finalists.

To recieve information about the 2015 Linbury Prize register here. The Linbury Prize 2015 is open to final year students and graduates from 2014 or 2015 from Theatre Design degree or postgraduate courses recognised on this website ( or by the Association of Courses in Theatre Design.