The Society of British Theatre Designers

  • Holding Hands At Paschendale
  • Our Country's Good
  • The Nature Connection Tree
  • Clutter Keeps Company
  • The Last 5 years set
Staging Places: We Are The Storytellers Now - open until March 13, 2020 at V&A London

Announcement of selection for PQ15 and V&A exhibitions:

The designers that have been chosen from the Make: Believe exhibition to represent the UK at the 2015 Prague Quadrennial and those whose work has been selected to be displayed with them at the V&A, were decided by a panel proposed by the SBTD Committee. The panel was made up of designers: Vicki Mortimer, Kathy Sandys and Sophie Jump, National Exhibition and PQ2015 UK Exhibit Curator Kate Burnett, exhibition designer/co-ordinator Trish Grasham, chaired by Sean Crowley, in consultation with Kate Bailey V&A Curator and with the input of emerging designers (who have worked throughout the Make/Believe exhibition and catalogue process) Brad Caleb Lee, Hannah Boothman and Jesca Warren.  As the only exhibitor on the panel Sophie agreed to be excluded from consideration.

The panel agreed that it was extremely difficult to make choices because of the amount of excellent and exquisitely presented work. It was agreed that the selection for our small space at PQ could be amplified for the temporary exhibition space within the V&A Theatre and Performance Galleries. So we have created a second list of work we intend to add in at the V&A and for a potential touring exhibition.

We all acknowledge the difficulty of competition in what is a collaborative art form and that some will be disappointed that the painstaking and expensive work put into creating these displays may not be taken forward to the PQ and V&A.

But all this work has been truly appreciated by unprecedented numbers of visitors at NTU, many traveling large distances to see the exhibition, bringing friends, family, professional contacts and spreading a fabulous amount of word-of-mouth praise and enthusiasm. Thank you to all who participated and worked on this truly celebratory shared event.

The selection criteria were as follows:

*   Work that represents the length, breadth and depth of contemporary performance design in the UK –  both geographically and in terms of scale, genre and   disciplines.

*   Work that demonstrates excellence in skills, vision and commitment.

*   Work in which the scenographic elements are clearly unified within the performance.

*   Work that is forward looking and that emphasises consideration of the relationship between the audience and performance:

  • through the designer’s input being integral to the work
  • through an essential engagement with space and context (of place, occasion, community)

*   Work that grapples with the UK’s identity, our history, politics and our future, including how we relate to the rest of the world.

The PQ2015 themes for the countries and regions section – Music, Weather, Politics – have chimed in many instances with work in the exhibition, but have not dictated the selection.

All participating designers in Make/Believe will be represented in a digital display in all venues and are included in the catalogue that is available to buy here. We hope all members and friends will continue to participate in and support the SBTD in Prague, at events at the V&A and beyond.

Kate Burnett and the Selection Panel

Kate Burnett, Curator,

Make/Believe: Design for Performance 2011-2015


Chosen to represent the UK at Prague Quadrennial 2015

Association of Sound Designers

Simon Banham

Tanja Beer

Samal Blak

Paul Brown

Lucía Conejero Rodilla

Frank Conway

Bob Crowley

Simon Daw

Es Devlin

Chris Gylee

Abigail Hammond

Shizuka Hariu

Kate Lane

Becky Minto

Conor Murphy

Neil Murray

Kimie Nakano & Matt Deely

Ashley Shairp

Leslie Travers

Cécile Trémolières

Janet Vaughan

Myriddin Wannell (Wildworks)


Added to the above for the V&A exhibition

Sarah Beaton

Dick Bird

John Bishop

Misty Buckley

Becky Davies

Robin Don

Alex Eales

Amelia Jane Hankin

Richard Hudson

Lizzie French & Cadi Lane

Marie Jeanne Lecca

Thomasin Marshall

Tupac Martir

Gary McCann

Antonella Petraccaro

Tom Piper

Colin Richmond

Hansjorg Schmidt

Rajha Shakiry

Jason Southgate

Rae Smith

Roundabout Studio Three Sixty

Simon Wilkinson & Jamie Harrison